Posted by: musingsofthemund | March 8, 2012

Two Facets, One God

This is the second part in my series on worship. Not sure how far this will go, there may be one more edition, we’ll just have to see. I know I wrote about my feelings about worship being disingenuous at times, but I’ve been thinking and reflecting on things more and after meeting with Cliff earlier this week (to those who don’t know, he’s the new worship leader for the young adults ministry I’m involved in), and want to expand my thoughts on types of worship.

So it seems to me that there are two main sorts of worship music. There’s the reflective, introspective, cry out to God flavor and there is the Hallelujah, praise the lord, display of praise flavor.

They seem very different and they are, but I think they are two important, necessary facets of worshiping God. One says “God, you are great” and the other says, “God, I need you.” I don’t think one is better than the other, I think they’re both good.

God is most certainly worthy of all of our praise, scripture says that if we don’t praise Him, that rocks will cry out instead. Everything about God is good and praising Him in this way is great for reminding us of just how awesome and wonderful He is, how much greater and better He is than we are and ever could be. It humbles us and reminds us of who God is.

Not only is God worthy of our praise, however, He is worthy of our dependence. He is the God who loves us and wants to provide for us. I’ve been reading in Isaiah and one of the things that God was so upset at His people for was the fact that instead of turning to Him, they turned to other nations and to idols. God desires our dependence. Singing songs about needing Him, about desiring Him, crying out, these things are a demonstration of our need, a reminder to ourselves of our dependence on God, that He is the only one who can do these things.

One of the coolest things about worship, in my mind anyway, is the fact that God responds to it and to us in it. He doesn’t have to, but He does. He comes down and blesses us with His presence, with His comfort. He meets us where we are. I was discussing with Cliff tonight about how some songs don’t seem very “worshipful” that they embody this second kind of need/dependence based worship and how in spite of that, the Holy Spirit moves and does stuff in the midst of it. That’s all I need to see in order to validate it.

I love that God allows us multiple facets to come to Him and worship Him with. That He doesn’t want us to merely have a simple, 2-dimensional experience of worship in song but that He gives us variety, texture, and nuance. Just as in many other areas, I think He does this so we can’t just boil it down to a formula, so that we have to depend on Him and walk in faith, allowing Him to guide us on the path to where HE wants to lead us. Praise God for being such a faithful, loving shepard.

Responses

  1. Actually, based on scripture, there 5 parts to our worship. This is how I plan my worship sets: http://www.knightnet.org.uk/worship-resources/the-worship-curve.php

    • Wow, that’s pretty cool, I hadn’t done that much research into it before. The subtleties mentioned in that seem (to me) like something that most people are not cognizant of as they come into worship, but are definitely something that I see value in as a worship leader. Thanks for the input!


Leave a Reply

Categories

